DD #16,17&18 – November 16th,17th&18th 2013

Hey everyone! Once again, I must apologize for being so late. Though it was a long weekend, and I had this finished and ready to go two nights ago, things just kept coming up to distract me. Please forgive me. I’m only now getting back into the groove of things. Hope this is blessing, and if you have thoughts, then please! Share them.

Genesis 7, pt. 1, v. 1-3 — http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Genesis%207:1-3&version=GNV

So the first thing we’ll look at here, is God’s statement in v. 1. He says that Noah is the only man He has found to be righteous on the whole earth. Now I’m not going to rehash what I’ve already gone over in regards to Noah, but it’s still important to recognize the significance of this statement. As I said in DD #11, I can’t even begin to imagine just how corrupt the earth must have been at the time, but yet, Noah managed to walk with God in spite of his circumstances. Isn’t that encouraging? And just think how overwhelming this must have all been for Noah, and yet he doesn’t complain, he doesn’t ask God to find someone else, he just obey’s God. 100% faith that God had it under control. The fate of life as we understand it, was being put into Noah’s hands, and he didn’t falter once! Can we say the same of basic simple tasks we have from day to day?

v. 2&3 are interesting, as they’ve stirred up lot’s of controversy in the past, and as I understand it, are still debated to this day.

The confusion of course, comes from God’s command to Noah to take two of every unclean animal kind, and seven of every clean animal kind. Now the debate comes from the phrase that follows each of these, “the male and his female”. So of course, when you do the math, two doesn’t go evenly into seven, which makes a bit of a problem.
I think, and again I issue the disclaimer that this is my personal view and I’m not stating this as doctrinal, that I’d side with those who think each number refers to one pair. This eliminates the issue of the command of “the male and his female” and the command for seven clean of every kind.

Short, but I really hope this has been a blessing. Let’s move onwards!

Genesis 7, pt. 2, v. 4-6 — http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Genesis%207:4-6&version=GNV

Here we see God again getting more specific about His judgement of the earth, saying that in seven days He’ll bring rain for forty days and nights. Now, as I’m not a scientific expert by any means, I’ll leave the explaining to people who can do it much better than I. I’m including a couple of articles on the rain falling for forty days and nights, one from Creation Ministries, and one from the Institute for Creation Research. They’ll talk about hypercanes and why there is a case for explaining this worldwide flood happening within the natural laws of of this universe.

Actually, while we’re on the topic, I’m going on a slight tangent here, I understand many of the supernatural occurrences (barring miracles of healing and the like) to be God directly affecting this world, but through the laws He himself established for how it works. I mean, there are exceptions of course, e.g. Elijah and the false prophets, when God consumed them with fire, but in a lot of examples, there’s a perfectly natural answer for it. e.g. Sodom and Gomorrah. I personally think that it could have been a meteorite. Would make sense. Fire from heaven, absolute destruction. It fits. Can I prove that? No. But it’s plausible. Which is the point.

The last thing here is more amusing to me than anything else. We see here that Noah was six hundred years old! Considering how much work had to go into making the ark, and provisioning for it, that’s pretty incredible. The reason why I’m amused, is because we live in a society where if you’re over 70 people tend to think that it’s time for you to start slowing down, but my grandfather, who’s in his eighties, works longer, harder, and more efficiently than most young adults, or teenagers that I know. That’s just the physical activity he does! (Gardening, both flower and vegetable; maintaining a multi-acre raspberry patch; chopping and stacking wood; cooking and baking; teaching adult Sunday school at his church; writing and reciting poetry; writing articles; visiting and hosting people.) And as of this year, he finally resigned from teaching at Ottawa University, where he’s been teaching for around fifty years!

And while I’ve never heard of or met anyone who’s quite as active as my grandfather, I know many whose grandparents haven’t just rolled over when they reached a certain age, but are still going strong.

These are the men and women we should be looking to for counsel and advice in living a healthy and prosperous life. (And I don’t mean wealthy!)  And Noah was most certainly one of them. The man was truly a giant among men, not just in attitude and character, but spiritually too. I hope that inspires you to keep going no matter what.

Phew, two down, one to go. Onwards!

Hypercanes:
http://creation.com/hypercanes
http://www.icr.org/article/hypercanes-genesis-flood/

Genesis 7, pt. 3, v. 7-9 — http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Genesis%207:7-9&version=GNV

Not much to talk about here, at least, nothing that we haven’t covered already, but there are two things I’d like to note.

One, I’ve seen quite a few comments in various places lately, in light of the new “Noah” film coming out, about Noah committing incest to repopulate the earth. Well here’s a mind-bender for you. Why is incest wrong? I’m serious. Why do you consider incest to be wrong? If your reply is somewhere along the lines of “It’s just wrong.” Well then, why? Where do you or I get off saying it’s wrong? Do we even have a basis for that? Well if you didn’t know before, the Bible does!  In Lev. 18:6-18 (http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Leviticus%2018:6-18&version=GNV).
But even then… why? I think that to a degree this is comparable with the old testament laws about what meat the Israelites were allowed to eat. Now, I say “degree”, as the law about clean and unclean food was done away with in Acts 10:9-16 (http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Acts%2010:9-16&version=GNV).
Seriously. Have you ever considered why you (as a Christian, or not) consider it wrong? Why it is? Where you gained the understanding that it is? After all, we see with Abraham, his wife, Sarah, was also his sister. Now if it was so wrong as to deserve being completely cut off from the people of God (Lev. 18), why did God choose someone who apparently was committing this sin to be the source of the nation that would go on to be His people?
Obviously, something changed.
Much like the law about the meats, which has been to shown in the past to have a basis in actual healthcare, I think that this law was implemented because God, seeing the big picture, was instituting something which while he didn’t explain, was for our good healthwise. We know that incestual relationships usually have a huge impact health wise on any children born out of them. These health issues can range from just physical appearance deformities, to neurological damage.

In the days of Noah, or even Abraham, the gene pool wouldn’t have degenerated as much as it has now, and this simply wouldn’t not have been an issue. But God, who sees the big picture, and knowing all things, knew that thanks to our sin, it would be an issue, instituted a law to His people about it. It’s not explained any more than the laws about meat, and yet we tend to get a whole more fired up about it. Have you ever truly stopped to consider why? I hope that this has shown you the answer to that “why”.  It’s very simple after all. God said so. And that’s enough for me. I hope that it is for you as well.

The second thing, is v. 9 when the animals come onto the ark. You always have people asking how Noah got all those creatures on the ark, and to be honest, I never really thought about it. The G.S. have a great note here, “God compelled them to present themselves to Noah, as they did before to Adam, when he gave them names, Gen 2:19.”

Do we ever think about that? I know it’s not exactly one of the first things that comes to mind when I think of this passage. It also doesn’t render God’s instruction to Noah irrelevant, as, while He brought the animals to Noah, in the end, Noah had to sort them himself. That always puzzled me. Why would God tell Noah to select the animals when He just brought them all to the ark in the first place? Anyways, I just thought that was interesting.

And that’s it! I’ll see about getting the next few devotionals out faster. Please pray that I don’t come down sick! Seems to be going around, and I’d hate to end up too far behind!

I hope this has been a blessing to all.

Cheers, and I’ll see you on the other side.

Cody, logging off.

2 comments

  1. Further up, you don’t want to get into the scientific issues, then on incest, you comment on a theory related to the gene pool!? Oh well, not everyone can be as logically consistent as I am !! 😉

    1. HAHA! Did you see the length of the AiG article? I scraped the surfa- wait, no. I dripped a drop in a pail compared to that. But ah well, I guess not everyone can sees grammar/writing as having as much flexibility while maintaining consistency as I do… 😉

      lol I would have phrased that better, but I’m just too tired at this point.

Drop a note.

